logo new1

Student Life: Jewish Student Union

The Jewish Student Union (JSU) at Michigan State University is a voting member of ASMSU, MSU’s student government. Hillel (a non-university organization) and the JSU have a superior working relationship and join forces to create an energetic Jewish presence on campus.

The primary objective of the Jewish Student Union is to provide Jewish students with opportunities to explore their cultural and ethnic experiences. The JSU has many different umbrella groups that have regular and free programs open to the entire student body, faculty and staff at MSU. The JSU annually sponsors Welcome Week Events, Israel Fest, concerts, and many other programs that encompass all aspects of Jewish culture.

The goal of the JSU is to provide a wide variety of programming that caters to the interests of Jewish students and provide opportunities to explore Jewish cultural and ethnic diversity at Michigan State University. The JSU serves as the umbrella organization that supports the programs of a multitude of social, cultural and religious groups. It is co-sponsored and funded by the Associated Students of Michigan State University and the Lester & Jewell Morris Hillel Jewish Student Center.

JSU Student Board:

Sarah Klein 

Ashley Schnaar  
Vice President

Breana Brill 

Graham Wise
ASMSU Representative 

Hannah Kahn
Senior Class Representative

Brandon Steingold
Senior Class Representative 

Ariel Bergman
Junior Class Representative 

Lauren Steininger
Junior Class Representative 

Rachel Morof 
Sophomore Class Representative

Jason Scott
Sophomore Class Representative 

Chandler Basch 
Athletic Chair

Oliver Soble 
Athletic Chair 

Eliza Firestone
Challah for Hunger

Jami Laub
Challah for Hunger 

Will Carter
Tzedek Community Service Chair 

Hayley Siegel
Jewish Alternative Break Chair

Jessy Hirsch
Culture Chair 

Danielle Sherman  
Jewish Pre-Medical Student Association (JPMSA)

Bri Dines
Jewish Women's Forum Chair 

Jacob Gordon
Jews in Greek Life 

Emily Hessenthaler
Jews in Greek Life 

Elyssa Hurwitz
Judaic Chair 

Ilana Schwartz
Out of Towner Chair 

Ari Suris
Spartans for Israel 

Seth Rosen
TEVA Outdoor Club 

Jessica Sherbin 
Team Israeli Programming Committee Chair (TIP-C)