top of page
Retirement Party Flyer-3.png

We are proud to share that we will be celebrating Cindy Hughey as she marks her retirement after 24 years as the executive director of MSU Hillel and the Hillel Campus Alliance of Michigan. We hope you will join us in recognizing Cindy’s dedication at a special Shabbat Dinner at MSU Hillel on Friday, May 3, 2024 at 7pm.  


Cindy has served with distinction at MSU Hillel and Hillel Campus Alliance of Michigan (HCAM).  During her tenure, Cindy transformed a sleepy Hillel in East Lansing into a vibrant hub of Jewish life.  Similarly, she has ensured that Jewish students statewide have had access to Jewish community with the creation of HCAM.  Over the years, Cindy has engaged thousands of students, empowered emerging leaders, and ensured the Jewish students were able to meet and connect in a warm and welcoming place.  Shabbat dinner has been a hallmark of Hillel’s programming and has grown so significantly under Cindy’s leadership that it’s fitting to honor her at a Shabbat meal.  


In addition to Celebrating Cindy at Shabbat, Hillel has established the Cindy Hughey Leadership Fund.  The Fund will help to support a variety of leadership initiatives at MSU Hillel, including leadership retreats, internships, experiential learning and opportunities for student leadership development.  Inspiring future Jewish leaders has been a hallmark of Cindy’s tenure throughout her career – to recognize her in this way is a very fitting tribute.  


Please consider honoring Cindy and her accomplishments by joining us for Shabbat Dinner on May 3 and by making a gift to the Cindy Hughey Leadership Fund.  Your generosity will not only acknowledge Cindy’s dedication to Hillel, but also will ensure that Jewish life continues to thrive statewide. Gifts at the $250 level and above will be acknowledged on a plaque that will be permanently displayed in the Lester and Jewell Morris Hillel Jewish Student Center.    


To register for dinner or make a gift, please click here.  You may also contact Robyn or Jonathon for more information.


Thank you for joining us as we Celebrate Cindy!

Celebrating Cindy Co-Chairs

Sandy Soifer and Paul Goldner

Patti and Rick Phillips 

Celebrating Cindy Host Committee*

Ariel and Sam Appel

Brittany and Evan Begun

Stephen Bernstein

Roz and Stanford Blanck

Audrey Bloomberg and Tzvi Tanenbaum

Shelby Bruseloff and Tom Biggins

Alex Chmara

Jodie Colman 

Amanda and Avi Davidoff 

Tammy and Steve Dines

Sam Dubin and Lyle Rothman

Eden and Kevin Elbinger

Karen and Vernon Gordon

Susan and Merrill Gordon 

Karen and Kenneth Goss 

Kim and Jeff Himelhoch

Carol and Ron Horwitz 

Miriam and Dan Horwitz 

Robyn and Eric Hughey

Steven Hughey

Maddi Jackson

Michelle and David Kam

Marisa and Adam Kaplan 

Jessica Katz

Jayme and Jeffrey Kirschner 

Jonathon Koenigsberg

Jennifer and Andrew Kravis 

Gail Langer 

Kyley and Jeff Lazor 

Mimi Marcus and Chad Rubin

Cheryl and Kim Margolis

Jessica and Steve Migliore

Elissa and Jason Miller

Leah and David Mindell

Daniel Muskovitz

Amanda and Justin Polk

Melanee and David Radner

Lauren Rifkin

Jordan Robinson

Amy and Adam Rodnick

Marla and David Rosman

Jenny and Eric Ross 

Marilyn and Don Rudick 

Michele and Eli Saulson

Elaine and Michael Serling

Liz Westrick and Josh Schenk 

Tara and Keith Schonberger

Jessica Sender

Johanna and Sam Schiffer

Rayna and Felix Shoihat

Lauren and Matt Soifer

Lynn and Elliot Spoon

Nate Strauss 

Terri and Todd Stearn

Abby and Kurt Suckow

Marcy Tucker

Carol and Sanford Vieder

Heather and Jeffrey Vieder

Alex Waldman 

Lindsay and Matthew Weiss 

Renee and Jason Weiss

Ilana Woronoff 

Sharyl and Steve Woronoff

*Committee in formation 

Celebrating Cindy Sponsors 


Linda and Dennis Deutsch

Nancy and Jim Grosfeld

Doreen Hermelin &  The Hermelin Family Foundation

Carol and Ron Horowitz

Carolina and Mauricio Kaufmann

Irving and Ethel Palman Foundation

Patti and Rick Phillips

Elaine and Michael Serling

Sandy Soifer and Paul Goldner


Sigma Delta Tau Sorority

Abby & Kurt Suckow Donor Advised Fund


Pamela Applebaum

Belfor Property Restoration

Ilana and Richard Isakow


Janet and Governor James Blanchard

Gail and Art (z'l) Langer

Joanne (z'l) and Peter McPherson

Marcie and Rob Orley

Lynn and Elliot Spoon

Temple Israel

Marcy Tucker

Marilyn and Walter Wolpin


Ben Bernstein Fund at Alpha Epsilon Pi 

Kori Belzer and Andrew Echt

Ellen and Arjuna Cuddeback

Karen and Ken Goss

Robyn, Eric, Cooper and Rosie Hughey

Jonathon Koenigsberg

Randie Levin

Mary and Ken Marton

Elissa and Rabbi Jason Miller

Michael Sandler

Michele and Eli Saulson

Rayna and Felix Shoihat

Amy and David Strauss

Carol and Sanford Vieder 

Sharyl and Steve Woronoff 

Rabbi Ben Zeidman


BJ and Gary Berkowitz

Susan and Sam Bernstein

Audrey Bloomberg and Tzvi Tanenbaum

Shelby Bruseloff and Tom Biggins

Paula and Michael Ceresnie

Barbara and Jerry Cook

Ilene Crane and Gabe Neistein

Arjuna and Ellen Cuddeback

The Dines Family

Robin and Marc Fisher

Kim and Jeff Himelhoch

Miriam and Rabbi Dan Horwitz

Marc Kaye

Sarah and Hans Kiebler

Jayme and Jeff Kirschner

Kyley and Jeff Lazor

Beth and Jonathan Lowe

Mimi Marcus and Chad Rubin

Laurie and David Mindell

Daniel Muskovitz

Anita and Robert Naftaly

Ellen Pollak and Nigel Paneth

Jane Radner & Dan Greenberg

Lauren Rifkin

Eric, Jennifer, Isla and Gavin Ross

Marilyn and Don Rudick

Lynn and Harvey Rubin

Gale and Larry Schiamberg

Janis and Eric Schiffer

Johannah and Sam Schiffer

Lois Shulman

Terri and Todd Stearn

Nate Strauss and Sara Evangelista

University of Michigan Hillel

Renee and Jason Weiss

Lindsey and Greg Weitzman

William Davidson Foundation

*Listing as of 4/11/24 

bottom of page